top of page

blog

  • joel melton

you are mine




I stayed up late

the night you left.

Not that I had much

Of a say in that.

It’s hard to sleep

With swollen eyes

And a trampled heart.


As i watched your fleeing

Figure fade behind

The hill our front,

I remember the day

I found you.

The day I set my

Eyes, love, name on you.


You were a pitiful sight,

Left behind like

Dinner scraps.

Lonely but not forgotten,

For your past reeked

Of far too much

Shame to forget.


Guilt wore heavy

On your eyes,

So heavy you didn’t

Lift them when

I walked by.

When you weren’t looking

I saw you.


I knelt down,

Caressed your chin

And lifted your face

That our eyes

Might meet.

Yours- ghostly and fearful

Mine- ripe with compassion.



And like a crippled

Mutt, i carried you.

Your stains

Now mine.

Your vile past

now mingling with

my tender present.


I brought you home

Which became our’s.

I fed you,

Washed you,

Clothed you,

And named you.

You were mine.


My years were spent

In love for you.

I forewent food

When it was scarce.

I gave my reputation

Up for you.

You were worth it.


My heart found

Joy in loving you.

I delighted in

Giving you myself

And i yearned

For you to

Give me you.


But there you go.

Running to the pain

I had brought you from.

Leaving the home

I made for you,

The love i shared

With you.


But you are mine

Because i called you.

And you are loved

Because i gave it.

So while you run,

Know, my love

Goes with you.


I will wait,

For you are mine.

40 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

together

bottom of page